Being the Rugby League tragic that I am (#sstid) I thought this might be a light and enjoyable read and give me a different glimpse into the rugby league world in Australia. Apparently, the gorgeous Zoe Foster used to date a rugby league star, so I suspect there’s quite a lot of autobiographical material at play here, wound into a simple but entertaining story.

Look, I’ll be honest. This wasn’t high-brow stuff. I usually run in horror at the suggestion of chick-lit, but this one got me in because I thought the rugby league angle might make it different. And it kind of did, but I still have some gripes. No offence, Zoe. I think you’re amazing.

My first gripe is how the book ended. It just kind of…stopped. It really felt like the author just got over it and decided to wrap the whole thing in a nice neat bow and be done with it. The way the story ended also felt like a wonderful opportunity to make a point about the value that women have in the rugby league world, but instead it took the safe (soft?) road, and went for the ‘expected’ chick-lit ending.

Gripe number two is no fault of the author, but rather the publishing house. The proofreading in this book was terrible. I should’ve jotted down the page number but didn’t. The main male character is ‘Josh’. Randomly,  on one page, he suddenly becomes ‘Joel’ – there’s no other Joel in the story, and contextually, it was obvious they were referring to the Josh character. I was glad I’d borrowed this from the library or I might’ve wanted my money back based on the proofreading alone. There were mistakes everywhere. I wasn’t even trying to scrutinise it, but I couldn’t help but see all the mistakes. Not cool.

Despite it all, it was a book that took me into a different world for a while, and Foster does have the capacity to tell an engaging story and I liked her use of voice and dialogue.

