Yes, I’m a secret Star Wars nerd.

Not one that knows every weird factoid or reads Star Wars fan fiction or anything, but I do love those films. Harrison Ford is one of my favourites; Han Solo and Indiana Jones in one wry rugged package? Awesome!

In all honesty, though, I’m only fairly new to the club. The first film is more than five years older than I am, and we just never watched them as kids. I decided it was a bit of hole in my knowledge so I watched them and instantly was transfixed. Well, aside from the terrible acting in Episodes 1-3. Seriously, how bad is it?

Sorry, I digress. Where was I? Oh. Right. Carrie Fisher! I had heard that these two books were very funny, and given my Star Wars nerdy-ness I thought I’d give them a try.

I’m glad I did. Fisher is rock-solid funny, a kind of wry, intelligent, twenty-twenty hindsight funny. I had no idea she was the daughter of Debbie Reynolds of ‘Singin’ in the Rain’ fame (which I totally adore, given my love of musicals which we have yet to come to!). No idea she was the product of a famous Hollywood family. She wears it well, although it’s obviously worn a dent into her armour, leading to an alcohol problem (hence the title) and a fairly substantial battle with mental illness. But I like her courage, I like her voice, and I like her irreverent sense of coping.

shockaholic

So I also read the second of her autobiographical works, Shockaholic, and it too didn’t disappoint. I will, however, look differently at those crazy loopy hair styles next time I watch A New Hope!

Highly recommended. Buy them at the Book Depository.

